News and Information 2023


The Annual General Meeting was held on 20 November 2023 at 7pm in the Clubhouse.  

New Committee Members elected 


We are delighted to announce that at the Annual General Meeting, we held elections for the position of President of Ampthill Bowls Club. We are pleased to announce that Ian McEwan has been duly elected as our new President.

Many congratulations to Ian in his new role, the Club extends its' support for a successful tenure ahead.

We express our gratitude to Ivan Williamson for his invaluable contributions and commitment during his term as President. His leadership has been instrumental in guiding our club through some difficult times, and we are grateful for his dedication. 

Let's warmly welcome Ian and work together to continue fostering the spirit of camaraderie and excellence within Ampthill Bowls Club.


It is with much appreciation that we extend our sincerest thanks to Caroline Warner-Smith, for her work and leadership as the outgoing Ladies' Captain of Ampthill Bowls Club. 

We're excited to announce and extend our warmest congratulations to Jacky Groves, who has stepped up to embrace the role of Ladies' Captain going forward.

Please join us in thanking Caroline for her valuable contributions and welcoming Jackie as she takes on this new role. Let's continue to support and encourage our Captains as they lead us forward into an exciting future for Ampthill Bowls club.



Pell Shield - Lost in first round of Pell Shield and second round of Harmsworth Cup

Fischer Cup - finished second place to Maulden

Men’s Top Club – We had good wins against Biggleswade Town and Luton Town before being defeated in the area semi-final by Sandy Con

Tony Allcock Trophy – Good wins against Beech Hill and Barton took us to the area final versus Henlow, where we lost a closely contested match

Men’s Two Fours – Lost by one point in the first round to a very strong Meltis team

Mixed Pairs - Mike and Nicolette reached the final of the Mixed Pairs, but were just pipped to the post by 2 shots.

County Over 55 Fours - RUNNERS-UP- Glen Beale, Diane Ingle, Patsy Dobson, Nicolette Wade

County Ladies Pairs - WINNERS - Patsy Dobson & Nicolette Wade

Over 55 Ladies Pairs - RUNNERS UP - Nicolette Wade and Lynn Ganna 

Ladies over 55 Singles - RUNNER-UP - Nicolette Wade 

Ladies County Champion of Champions - WINNER - Nicolette Wade


A Squad – Div 2 - Won 10, lost 4 – Position 1st out of 8 – Champions/Promoted

B Squad -  Div 3 - Won 4, lost 10 – Position 7th out of 8 – Relegated

C Squad – Div 6 - Won 8, lost   6 – Position 3rd out of 8 – Stay in same division

EBL Knockout Cup - A side lost to Potton by 4 shots


Presented by 2023 President:  Ivan Williamson - awarded life membership in recognition of his services as Club President. 

Club Championship - WINNER - Terry Lynch;     RUNNER-UP - Mike Rogers

Crawley Cup - WINNER - Pete Salsbury;     RUNNER-UP - Mike Wade

Don Ross - WINNER - Ian McEwan;     RUNNER-UP - Eddie Coulter (Final not played)

Men's Pairs - WINNERS - Kevin Mitchel and Mike Rogers(absent);     RUNNERS-UP - Goff Holmes and Paul Carter

Ladies Pairs - WINNERS - Patsy Dobson and Jacky Groves - RUNNERS-UP - Jenny Thompson and Nicolette Wade

Social Evening Cup - WINNER - Tony Lee;     RUNNER-UP - Ian McKewan

Ladies Singles - WINNER - Nicolette Wade;     

Ladies Singles  - RUNNER-UP - Jacky Groves

Mixed Pairs - WINNERS - Mike and Nicolette Wade;     RUNNERS-UP - Tony and Colette Lee

Jean Osborne Trophy - WINNER - Beryl Kemp

Men’s 2 Wood Singles – WINNER - Mike Wade;     RUNNER-UP - Tony Lee

Nin & Don Trophy – WINNERS - Paul Carter/Jenny Thompson;     RUNNERS-UP - Ian McEwan/Mike Oliver

Vera Babb Triples – WINNERS - Patsy Dobson/Tony Thompson/Mike Oliver;  RUNNERS-UP - Martyn Read/Tony Lee/Ian McEwan

Fred & Vera Farr Trophy  WINNER - Paul Carter;     RUNNER-UP - Nick Warner-Smith

Cooper Cup - WINNER - Michael Rogers (absent);     RUNNER-UP - Nick Warner-Smith

Ivan Williamson

Club Champion

Crawley Cup

Don Ross

Men's Pairs

Ladies Pairs

Social Evening Cup

Ladies Singles

Singles Runner up

Mixed Pairs 

Cooper Cup 

Jean Osborne Trophy

Men’s 2 Wood Singles 

Nin & Don Trophy 

Vera Babb Triples

Fred & Vera Farr Trophy


A big well done to our Ladies County Pairs team, Nicolette Wade and Patsy Dobson, for getting through to the County Pairs Final.  They now have the wonderful opportunity of representing Bedfordshire and playing in the final at Leamington, Good Luck ladies. 


A great day was had by all at our first internal competition of the season.  The Fred and Vera Farr Singles Trophy was won by Paul Carter with Nick Warner-Smith being runner-up.

16 Members took part in four round-robin groups, with the winner of each progressing to the semi-finals and then on to the final.

Captain Mike Wade

 & Paul Carter

Captain Mike Wade 

& Nick Warner-Smith

Our next one-day internal competition is the Vera Babb Triples on Sunday 2nd July where it is hoped as many members as possible will enter.


A great win for Ampthill this year winning the indoor Tompkins Cup 2022-23....

Saturday 18th February saw the annual indoor match for the Tomkins Cup - a triangular event between Ampthill, Maulden and Flitwick Bowls Clubs.  A great afternoon was had by all, with the games played in a fine spirit of friendly rivalry, with a fantastic meal to follow.  Ampthill once again retained the trophy winning with 89 shots, to Maulden 71 and Flitwick 70.

The Ampthill team all performed well, with special thanks to Ivan Williamson and Michael Rogers who are not "indoor bowlers" and to Life Member, Les Bunn who travelled from Lincolnshire to take part in the game. The victory, whilst slightly unexpected, goes to show what strength in depth we have in the club, both indoors and outdoors.

Captain Mike receiving the trophy from Maulden Captain, Doug King


A very well done to our Ladies team who won the EBL cup this year (2022-23)